Apply-now-button-1024x340.png
Restorative Justice Week 2022

Building Just and Equitable Spaces

The Restorative Justice Week, 2022 is inspired from the brilliant efforts done by European Forum of Restorative Justice. Restorative Justice keeps impacting the existing system and practices in multiple ways. Criminal justice jurisdictions which have experimented with Restorative Justice have evolved and produced better results in terms of reformation and victim satisfaction. Consequently, restorative practices have started impacting other areas as well, including but not limited to educational institutions, workplaces, and family. 

The objective behind RJ Week 2022 is to sensitize those who still wonder ‘what’ restorative justice is, ‘why’ is being talked about, and ‘how’ it works. We are coming up with a week-long plan to educate you about the philosophy of Restorative Justice and equip you with conflict resolution skills useful in different walks of life.

Dates: November 14-18 2022

Registration Fee: INR 2400 (USD 30)

Last Date to Register: November 5, 2022

rj.jpg

Collaborators of the Program

WhatsApp Image 2022-09-29 at 11.58.22 AM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2022-09-29 at 11.58.23 AM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2022-09-29 at 11.58.22 AM (1).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2022-09-29 at 11.58_edited.jpg
Speakers of the Program

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom

Join us in this program and learn from experts!

rjweek.jpg

Key Features of the Workshop

  1. 5 days- 8 sessions- 13 speakers- 1 virtual mixer and ideation exhibition- 5 global organizations 

  2. Exposure to International trends and models of Restorative Justice

  3. Interactive sessions with international experts and diverse cohort

  4. Opportunity to get published in the digital readers book published by Accords International. 

  5. Work with global leaders on your idea to apply restorative justice in diverse area

  6. Research and logistics support as well as expert guidance

  7. Virtual conference

  1. Theme: Restorative Justice for Community Development- November 14

The successful implementation of restorative justice in criminal justice around the globe acted as an impetus for the adoption of restorative approach. The scope of restorative approach expands beyond criminal justice system to better the relationship management in community and prevention and resolution of conflict amicably in the community. Day 1 of this RJ Week is dedicated to see how a restorative approach can activate community values.

Session 1:

Non-violent Communication

LeeAnn King

EST: 8:00-9:15 am EST i.e.,

IST: 6:30-7:45 pm

Session 2

RJ in Schools: Value Orientation of Children

Floyd Bronson, John Inglish and Darren Reiley

EST: 9:30-10:30 am i.e.

IST 8-9 pm and then

EST: 10:30-11:30 am

i.e. IST 9-10 pm

Communication is the basic requirement of human interaction in society. Techniques of non-violent communication can increase empathy and improve the quality of interaction. Join us in this session to learn how non violence in communication can infuse positivity and de-escalate any conflicts that take place. 

Schools are the foundational blocks of a child's future. Integration of the restorative approach in the curriculum can help students learn basic techniques of conflict resolution. 

Join us in this session to learn how restorative justice can be implemented in a school setting. Further, we learn about a unique project being worked on by Oregon Law School in Oregon, USA to improve emotional and psychological safety at school and empower teachers to create a non-punitive restorative environment.

2. Restorative Justice vis-à-vis Criminal Justice System- November 15

Criminal justice systems across the globe have been revamped to update them as per the needs of the time. Restorative justice over the years has shown the potential to fill in the gaps that exist. The objective is to explore how restorative practices can be integrated into the criminal justice system to improve its performance.

Session 1:

Inducement of restorative practices in an adversarial model of justice

Jamal Jones and Andria Chatmon

EST- 7:30-9:00 am i.e.

IST 6-7:30 pm

In many jurisdictions around the globe, adversarial models of justice delivery are followed. This makes it a contest between the State and the accused to fight and prove/disprove the guilt. This is based upon the due process which presumes ‘innocent unless proven guilty.’  With the emergence of restorative justice, this basic presumption is challenged. Join us in understanding how restorative justice can be integrated in the adversarial system of justice.

Session 2

Models of Restorative Justice

European Forum for Restorative Justice

Tentative: London Time: 2:30-4 pm,

EST: 9:30- 11 am

i.e., IST 8-9:30 pm

Restorative justice is a philosophy which can be adopted in the form of different models. Each country has its own elements suiting its criminal justice system. Join us in this session to know more about different models of integration of restorative justice into the criminal justice system.

3. Restorative Justice beyond Criminal Justice System- November 16

Restorative justice is seen as a ‘philosophy’ which can be infused into any area of practice. The value system enshrined in this philosophy is useful beyond the criminal justice system as well to de-escalate conflicts and resolve them amicably. On Day 3, we will explore how it can be applied beyond criminal law.

Session 1:

RJ for inter-generational equity

Martha Cooper and Sal Corbin

EST: 7:00-8:15 am

i.e. IST 5:30-6:45 pm

Session 2

Restorative Practices in Workplace

Jeri Fields and Akanksha Marwah

EST: 8:30-10:00 am

i.e. IST 7-8:30 pm

The idea of fairness and justice transcends through generations. Not only does it impact how coming generations regulate their relationships but also it defines the relationship between different generations. It defines the dynamics amongst children, youth, adults and seniors. This session will elaborate on how a restorative approach can bring fairness in these relationships for strengthening of the community.

Restorative practices have proven to be useful in transforming workplaces so that co-workers perceive any negative behaviour as harmful to the co-workers and the organization, and not violation of any code of conduct, focus on accountability to repair harm done to the relationships at workplace, promote reflection and learning, and makes the workplace environment inclusive and conducive for everyone.

4. Future of Restorative Justice November 17

Restorative justice has been impacting every segment of life and is definitely here to stay for the promises it makes and delivers. In the technological world we live it is imperative to understand how the future of restorative justice be envisioned in the light of technological advancement.

Session 1:

Tech-policy and Restorative Practices

Ajima Olaghere and Upasana Singh

EST- 7- 8:15 am

i.e. IST 5:30-6:45 pm

Session 2

Developing RJ Values document

Sal Corbin, Andria Chatmon, Martha Cooper, Jamal Jones

EST: 8:30-9:30 am

i.e., IST 7-8 pm

Technology has swayed over every field of work. The entire purpose of restorative approach and justice is to improve the experiences of those holding a stake in activating community values, conflict prevention and resolutions. Scholars have put forth that use of technology can further this experience. Join us in knowing how!

Rules are better followed when they are created for oneself. On the 4th day, our speakers will introduce us to the practices one can adopt which are restorative in nature to make it a life skill. Along with the participant they will develop a values document. Join us to make this world a restorative place to live!

5. Virtual Mixer and Ideation Exhibition- November 18 EST 8:30-10:30 am i.e. IST 7-9 pm

vm.jpg

Last day would give an opportunity to the participants to share their experience of RJ Week. It would also involve an ideation exhibition. The participants will be invited to showcase their idea of implementing, and transforming restorative justice approach for the future. On the basis of the ideas presented, a digital book ‘Restorative Justice: The Future’ will be launched in the new year. The participants will be asked to submit their short articles for this digital book. A few of those ideas will be taken up as projects by Accords International. The participants whose ideas are picked will be given an opportunity to work with Accords International for that project.